Career Services Webinar Series

165

South University is giving students the opportunity to learn more about the steps they can take to help prepare them for their job search after graduation.

Everything from landing internships, writing effective resumes, networking, interviewing, and negotiating job offers will be covered in the 2017-2018 Career Services Webinar Series.

The series began in mid-October with “How to Land an Internship,” facilitated by South University, Savannah Director of Career Services Victoria Ten Broeck. The webinar focused on how to become an internship candidate who stands out from the competition, and discussed the resources available to help students find a rewarding internship. Employers overwhelmingly point to internship experience as the most important factor they consider in hiring new college graduates for full-time positions. The College of Business provides course credit to students that participate in a South University approved internship opportunity.

“I applied many lessons learned through the South University Information Technology program, including theory from human computer interaction to update the company website and advanced networking class to troubleshoot network problems,” said Joseph Murratti, South University, West Palm Beach Bachelor of Science in Information Technology student. “I also used concepts from the systems analysis class to pitch ideas for updates to the existing computer systems and update office procedures. I would definitely recommend an internship to other students who desire hands-on experience that builds technical skills. In addition, I made crucial contacts that can help me discover job opportunities and can serve as references.”

Directors of Career Services on all of South University’s campuses participated by providing attendees with internship opportunities in their market and field of study. A recording of this webinar can be heard at:

https://attendee.gototraining.com/11220/recording/7186386395070166017 (paste the URL into your internet browser).

Below, you will find a list of the 2017-2018 Career Services webinars. To register for a webinar, please visit the registration page at the web address listed by pasting the URL into your internet browser.

 

“Professionalism 101” Tuesday, February 27, 2018 3:00 pm EST (2:00 pm CST) Presenter: Kim Bevington, Dean of Student Affairs https://attendee.gototraining.com/r/3017539679517720066

“Evaluating and Negotiating Job Offers for Masters of Science in Nursing Graduates” Wednesday, March 14, 2018 5:30 pm EST (4:30 pm CST) Presenters: Donna DuHame-Schmidt, Director of Career Services and Paula Reising, University Director of Career Services https://attendee.gototraining.com/r/8523205617141064706

“Networking for Success” Thursday, April 19, 2018 6:00 pm EST (5:00 pm CST) Presenter: Victoria Ten Broeck, Director of Career Services https://attendee.gototraining.com/r/3230551365701825794

“Being an Effective Leader” Tuesday, May 15, 2018 2:30 pm EST (1:30 pm CST) Presenters: Kate Batten, Dean of Student Affairs and Alisa Krouse, Assistant Chancellor for Student Affairs https://attendee.gototraining.com/r/2223823126147385090

“Using Social Media in Your Job Search” Wednesday, June 13, 2018 12:00 pm EST (11:00 am CST) Presenter: Mandi Wasmer, Director of Career Services https://attendee.gototraining.com/r/3800892236285146882

“Interviewing” Thursday, July 19, 2017 Presenters: Victoria Ten Broeck, Director of Career Services and Alicia Parker-Morse, Director of Career Services 4:00 pm EST (3:00 pm CST) https://attendee.gototraining.com/r/4875309710180466178

Programs, credential levels, technology, and scheduling options vary by school and are subject to change. Not all online programs are available to residents of all U.S. states. South University, Savannah 709 Mall Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31406-4805 © 2017 South University. All rights reserved. Our email address is materialsreview@southuniversity.edu.

See suprograms.info for program duration, tuition, fees, and other costs, median debt, salary data, alumni success, and other important information.